For many Michigan motorists, a mistake on their driving record can result in substantial driver responsibility fees, and can even lead to having their driver’s licenses revoked. But a new program for 2015 will allow some Michigan residents to perform community service to waive those fees and get their licenses back faster.
Effective December 31, 2014, some Michigan drivers will be eligible to perform community service rather than pay their outstanding driver responsibility fees. This program, which will only be available for 2015, could significantly reduce the number of unlicensed drivers on the road and the number of hit and run accidents across the state.
Not all driver responsibility fees will be covered. Only fees assessed for certain offenses qualify:
- No Proof Of Insurance
- No Insurance
- Driving Without Proper License/Endorsement/Vehicle Group Designator
- Driving While License Expired
- Driving While Unlicensed Or License Not Valid.
Missing from this list is Driving While License Suspended/Revoked/Denied or Driving Without Insurance. Drivers with these offenses will still have to pay the responsibility fees directly.
Qualifying drivers will receive a letter in the mail saying they are eligible to file a community service application. Once their application is approved they will have 45 days to complete 10 hours of community service for each driver responsibility assessment on their record. Drivers with multiple driver responsibility fees will be able to defer some fees until later in the year, but all community service has to be completed by December 31, 2015.
There were over 7 million licensed drivers in Michigan in 2012. But there are plenty of motorists on the road without a valid license or no-fault insurance. When these drivers get into a car crash they are more likely to “hit and run” by leaving the scene of the accident. That can put the burden of medical expenses, disability accommodations, and property damage on the shoulders of the injured driver.
But by providing this new way to work off driver responsibility fees, Michigan encourages drivers to get licensed, get insured, and drive covered. This could significantly reduce the number of hit and run crashes in the New Year.
Auto accident attorney David Christensen at Christensen Law in Southfield, Michigan, can help the victims of hit and run accidents get the recovery they need. He and his team work hard to get insurance companies to cover victims’ injuries when the other driver is nowhere to be found. If you or someone you know has been seriously injured in a hit and run accident, contact Christensen Law for a free consultation today.