Dave Christensen is the greatest lawyer inside and out.” - Tashee P. - Oak Park, MI
David made sure all of my medical bills were paid for.” - Antonio D. - Livonia, MI
Christensen Law is not an ordinary firm, it's exceptional.” - D.T. - Jackson, MI
They took my case to trial & won me a great settlement.” - H.H Davidson
Every summer, thousands of high school students across Michigan complete drivers’ training – the first step to becoming a licensed driver. Drivers’ Ed might teach you the rules of the road, but here’s a few things they might not tell you.
As soon as a teen driver gets behind the wheel of the family SUV, teen drivers’ families will face sticker shock. Adding a teen driver to a married couple’s insurance policy hikes the rate up an average of 79 percent. For teen boys, that number is 92 percent. That’s because your auto insurance company is trying cover itself. If a teen driver is critically and permanently injured, it could be paying for medical expenses for decades to come. While some insurance providers will wait until the teen driver has his or her license, others start charging as soon as the student enrolls in Drivers’ Training.
But that doesn’t mean you should go out on your own plan. According to Doug Mercer of State Farm Insurance:
“It’s not a good idea to move away from your household’s multiple-policy insurance. . . . That will always cost more, and [parents are] still legally responsible for [their] teen until he’s 18 anyway.”
Even though that initial insurance bill might shock you, there are ways to bring it down. Some no fault insurance providers offer “good student discounts” to high school students with at least a 3.0 grade point average.
Staying ticket- and accident-free is another good way to keep costs down. Getting points on your license, from traffic tickets or accidents, will make your insurance cost more. That’s why you want to take those Drivers’ Training classes seriously. Being a safe driver will keep you and your passengers safe, and will help keep your insurance costs low.
One quick way to increase your insurance costs is to get caught texting while driving. It is illegal in Michigan, so getting caught could even send you to jail.
You are three times more likely to crash while texting than when you are focused on the road ahead of you. Cell phone providers are encouraging young drivers to take a pledge against texting while driving with the slogan “It Can Wait.”
Taking Drivers’ Training is an important first step to becoming a safe Michigan driver. By taking the class seriously and making sure your texts wait until you arrive at your destination, you can keep yourself safe and keep your insurance costs low.
David Christensen is an auto accident attorney at Christensen Law in Southfield, Michigan. He and his team represent the victims of car crashes against insurance companies. If you or someone you know has been in a serious car accident, contact Christensen Law today for a free consultation.