Christensen Law’s Safe Ride Home program has paid for over 300 rides in Southeast Michigan over the past year. Now the program is headed north to Genesee County.
Drinking and driving isn’t limited to big cities. Michigan residents who live further from urban centers like Detroit or Ann Arbor may be even more likely to get behind the wheel after holiday celebrations. In the state’s smaller cities, like Flint, and the more rural areas surrounding it, the comparative lack of public transportation options can make it harder to make smart choices when it comes to drunk driving, especially around the holidays.
Christensen Law has been offering Michigan residents a Safe Ride Home since Thanksgiving 2015. Founder David Christensen, an auto accident attorney, has been representing the victims of drunk driving accidents for over 25 years, and knows that prevention is better than any remedy he could get families after the fact. So he created the Safe Ride Home Program.
Genesee County Gets a Safe Ride Home
Through Safe Ride Home, residents of Southeast Michigan have been able to get reimbursed for cab or Uber rides after holiday celebrations like New Year’s Eve. Until now, the program had been limited to Oakland, Macomb, Wayne, and Washtenaw County. But now the program has expanded to include Lyft rides and residents of Genesee County.
Genesee County Sheriff Robert J. Pickell is endorsing the program’s expansion, encouraging anyone who might otherwise drive drunk to take advantage of Christensen Law’s Safe Ride Home program. He says:
“Anything I can do to keep our community safe, I’m all in.”
How Safe Ride Home Works
If you want to take advantage of Christensen Law’s new, expanded Safe Ride Home program, just contact a cab, Uber, or Lyft to take you home from your celebration. Pay for the ride and send the receipt to us. We’ll reimburse up to $35. Here are the rest of the details:
- Offer Is Good From 4 P.M. On December 31, 2016 To 4 A.M. On January 1, 2017.
- You Must Be At Least 21 Years Old.
- Maximum Reimbursement Is $35, Good For A One-Way Ride To Your Home.
- Receipts Must Be Received By Christensen Law By Midnight, January 6, 2017 To Be Eligible For Reimbursement.
- Ride Must Be Within Genesee, Wayne, Macomb, Oakland And Washtenaw Counties.
- Provider Of Ride Must Be A Licensed Taxi Company, Uber Or Lyft.
Email A Copy Of The Official Taxi Company, Uber Or Lyft Receipt Along With A Copy Of Your Valid Driver’s License To Saferidehome@Davidchristensenlaw.Com OR Send Those Materials Via U.S. Mail To Christensen Law Safe Ride Home, 25925 Telegraph Rd., Suite 200, Southfield, MI 48033.
Call Christensen Law at 248-213-4900 for more details.