Michigan Motorcycle Laws You Need to Know

heading divider

Christensen Law 
David Christensen  
25925 Telegraph Rd #200  
Southfield, MI 48033 
(248) 213-4900 
inquiry@davidchristensenlaw.com 
https://www.davidchristensenlaw.com 
https://plus.google.com/101403597068266196711/posts

Michigan Motorcycle Laws

What Counts as a Motorcycle?

All the Michigan Motorcycle laws described here apply to two- and three-wheeled vehicles with a seat or saddle that are capable of going more than 30 miles per hour. This includes many mopeds and “trikes” There are some “mini choppers” that are excluded from the registration requirement because they are missing necessary safety equipment and are not legally allowed on public roads.

License and Motorcycle Endorsement Laws
Half of all Michigan bikers are riding without a proper license. To legally ride in Michigan, you need to get a motorcycle endorsement (CY) in addition to your regular driver’s license. Riding without a CY endorsement could land you points on your license and take money out of your pocket.

A motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 18 seeking the endorsement. Older riders are not legally required to take the course.

You can also get a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) to learn to ride on the roads. A TIP allows you to ride:
Under the visual supervision of an adult licensed motorcycle operator.

• During daylight hours.
• Without a passenger.
• Registration Requirements

All street-legal motorcycles must be registered with the Secretary of State. This registration is renewed each year. When you register your bike for the first time, you will need to present your title and proof of at least $20,000/$40,000 public liability insurance, as well as $10,000 property damage coverage. Michigan motorcyclists are not legally required to maintain no-fault insurance.

Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Laws
You are required to wear a helmet whenever you ride a motorcycle in Michigan unless you:

• Are 21 years old;
• Have $20,000 in first-party PIP motorcycle insurance;
• Have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least 2 years; and
• Have passed a motorcycle safety course.

Where You Can Ride

When you are riding your motorcycle you are entitled to the full width of your lane. Bikers often choose to ride two across, which is also allowed.

Motorcycles with less than 125 cc engines are not allowed on Michigan freeways or limited access highways.

Drinking and Driving Motorcycles is Illegal
It is illegal to operate a motorcycle if:

• You are visibly intoxicated or impaired due to drugs (including prescriptions) or alcohol.
• Your blood alcohol content is above 0.08.
• You have any amount of a Schedule 1 drug or cocaine in your system. This includes marijuana, and many prescription pain medications.

About David Christensen
LISTENING. PROTECTING. WINNING
At Christensen Law, we are leaders in helping victims of automobile and truck accidents. We understand the overwhelming challenges that come with these life-changing events, and we want to help. You are not alone – we will become your voice.

Christensen Law 
David Christensen  
25925 Telegraph Rd #200  
Southfield, MI 48033 
(248) 213-4900 
inquiry@davidchristensenlaw.com 
https://www.davidchristensenlaw.com 
https://plus.google.com/101403597068266196711/posts